0 votes

Is there a way to use a Business Unit as a condition of a Business Rule? There's a condition called "If an Initiator is a member of <business unit>", but not a generic "If <object> is a member of <business unit"

It seems to me to be a logical use for Business Units, but I've just purchased the tool, so I'm still learning and I might have missed it.

Thx!

--Joel

by (470 points)

1 Answer

0 votes
by (216k points)
selected by
Best answer

Update 2019

Starting with version 2019.1, the If the object belongs to <Business Unit> condition is available in business rules, custom commands and scheduled tasks.

Original

Hello Joel,

The If <object> is a member of <Business Unit> condition is not present in Adaxes because there is basically no need for it. When you define the Activity Scope for a Business Rule or Scheduled Task, you can include or exclude a Business Unit, which is approximately the same as if you've put the If <object> is / is not a member of <Business Unit> condition in the rule or task. However, if you can't do without this condition, you can easily check whether an object is a mmber of a Business unit with the help of a PowerShell script. For example, the following script returns True if the target object on which a Business Rule, Custom Command or Scheduled Task is executed, is a member of a Business Unit named My Unit:

$businessUnitName = "My Unit" # TODO: modify me

$Context.ConditionIsMet = $False

# Search Business Units with the name specified
$businessUnitsPath = $Context.GetWellKnownContainerPath("BusinessUnits")
$searcher = $Context.BindToObject($businessUnitsPath)
$searcher.SearchFilter = "(&(objectCategory=adm-BusinessUnit)(name=$businessUnitName))"
$searcher.SearchScope = "ADS_SCOPE_SUBTREE"
$searcher.PageSize = 500
$searcher.ReferralChasing = "ADS_CHASE_REFERRALS_NEVER"

try
{
    $searchResult = $searcher.ExecuteSearch()
    $units = $searchResult.FetchAll()
    if ($units.Count -eq 0)
    {