Grant Rights to Perform Office 365 Management Tasks


Using Adaxes, you can delegate Office 365 management tasks to users. For example, you can allow users to activate and deactivate accounts in Office 365, assign and revoke Office 365 licenses, etc. The rights to perform Office 365 management tasks, like any other rights in Adaxes, are granted with the help of Security Roles.


By default, some built-in Security Roles contain the Write All Properties and Full Control permissions that grant the right to perform all Office 365 management tasks.

In this tutorial, you will learn how to add permissions to perform various Office 365 tasks to an existing Security Role.


  1. Launch Adaxes Administration Console.
    Expand Adaxes service \ Configuration \ Security Roles and select the Security Role you want to modify.


  2. In the Permissions section located to the right, click Add.

  3. Select User in the list of object types on the left.

  4. In the right part of the dialog, select the permissions you want to delegate:

    • To delegate full control over Office 365 accounts, select the Write Office 365 Properties permission in the Allow column.

    • To restrict users to perform specific operations only, you need to grant them the permission to modify the Office 365 property that corresponds to the operation you need. The following table shows which operation corresponds to which permission:


      Operation Permission
      Activate account, set location Write 'Office 365 Location' property
      Assign/revoke licenses Write 'Office 365 Licenses' property
      Allow/block access to Office 365 Write 'Office 365 Sign-In Blocked' property

      In the Property-specific permissions list:

      • Type Office 365 in the filter edit box to filter out permissions unrelated to Office 365.
      • Check the desired property in the Allow column. For example, to delegate the right to assign and revoke Office 365 licenses, check the Write Office 365 Licenses permission in the Allow column.

    • When done, click OK.

  5. Click Save changes.


See Also

Open tutorial filtering

Got questions?
Support Forum